鲨鱼观察者 (002)

努力保护我们的海洋

在过去的几周里,在开普敦的福尔斯湾发现了一艘新船。 虽然对某些人来说很神秘,但这艘船是为执行任务而建造的。 这是一艘在该地区巡逻的政府船只。

在过去几年中,延绳钓和商业捕鱼已成为一个大问题。 开普敦的水域以其种类繁多的非常受欢迎的鱼类而闻名,这不仅是因为它们的异国情调,而且还有很高的市场价值。 因此,林业、渔业和环境部 (DFFE) 制定了法律,要求希望捕鱼的人获得捕鱼许可证,以保护海洋免受非法活动和过度捕捞的影响。 任何未经许可捕鱼的人都可能根据 18 年第 1988 号海洋生物资源法面临起诉,并面临最高 5 年的监禁或最高 2 万兰特的罚款。 海域不易监测,DFFE派出船只监测海域的非法活动和捕鱼活动。 其他船只的存在,例如鲨鱼笼潜水公司的博物学家和环保主义者,对那些希望利用我们已经枯竭的海洋生物的人构成了威慑。

APEX 海豚之旅

许多我们因壮丽和美丽而钦佩的物种(例如鲨鱼)的数量正在减少。 许多鲨鱼要么是商业捕捞技术的牺牲品,要么是目标物种。 Sea Shepherd 等组织采取积极的立场,有时会冒着生命危险来帮助拯救和保护海洋。 Sea Shepherd 与许多政府组织合作,协助逮捕和保护鲨鱼、鲸鱼、海豚、海龟和其他海洋生物免遭过度捕捞和非法捕捞。 其他组织,例如 Shark Spotters,可以充当观察者和威慑者。 在寻找鲨鱼时,他们

提醒那些希望参与开发和破坏海洋以谋取利益的人,有眼睛注视着它们。

无论您感觉如何,海洋都是我们生态系统不可或缺的一部分。 对我们的生存至关重要。 此外,我们的物种在很大程度上依赖于许多大多数人从未听说过的动植物。 作为个人,我们可能永远无法作为海洋守护者的志愿者不知疲倦地工作。 尽管如此,我们仍然可以保持对海洋及其保护的意识。 它可以毫不费力,例如拿起您带到海滩的水瓶或三明治包装纸,并在您离开时将其扔进垃圾箱。 不一定非要英勇或勇敢才有价值。 我们可以做一些小事,这将产生巨大的影响。

如果您有兴趣更多地参与保护我们的海洋,以下是您可以联系开始的地点列表:

海洋守护者

两洋水族馆 

农业、土地改革和农村发展部

 

如果您和我们一样对鲨鱼深表感激,请预订 开普敦鲨鱼笼潜水之旅 和我们。 

分享这篇文章

相关博客

与鲨鱼一起体验笼式潜水
鲨鱼笼潜水

鲨鱼笼潜水体验

与鲨鱼一起体验笼式潜水 我们发现它们时距离开普角 XNUMX 英里——两只蓝鲨和一只灰鲭鲨。 我们遇到过

跳闸状态

明天

周二
27 June 2023

下次旅行 28 月 XNUMX 日
11h45

*行程状态每天 16:00 SAST 更新

Shark Spotters (002)

Efforts to Protect our Oceans

Over the past few weeks, a new ship has been spotted in False Bay in Cape Town. While mysterious to some, this vessel has been built for a mission. It is a government vessel to patrol the area.

Longline and commercial fishing has become a massive problem over the past few years. The waters of Cape Town have been known for their wide variety of highly desirable fish species, not only because of their exotic nature but also high market value. The Department of Forestry, Fisheries and Environment (DFFE) has thus imposed laws to protect the oceans from illegal activities and overfishing by requiring those wishing to fish to obtain a fishing permit. Anyone caught fishing without a permit can face prosecution under the Marine Living Resources Act No. 18 of 1988 and face up to 5 years imprisonment or up to a R 2 million fine. The seas are not easy to monitor, and the DFFE sends out vessels to monitor the waters for illegal activities and fishing. The presence of other ships, such as naturalists and environmentalists of shark cage diving companies, poses a deterrent to those wishing to exploit our already depleted marine life.

APEX dolphin tours

Many species we admire for their magnificence and beauty, such as sharks, are dwindling in numbers. Many sharks are either a casualty of commercial fishing techniques or target species. Organisations such as Sea Shepherd take an active stand, at times putting their lives at risk to assist in saving and preserving the oceans. Sea Shepherd works alongside many government organisations aiding in arrests and protecting sharks, whales, dolphins, turtles, and other marine life from being over and illegally fished. Other organisations, such as Shark Spotters, can serve as watchers and deterrents. While looking for sharks, they

are reminders to those wishing to participate in exploiting and harming the oceans for profit that there are eyes on them.

No matter how you feel, the ocean is an integral part of our ecosystem. Essential to our survival. In addition, our species greatly depend on many plants and animals most have never heard of. As individuals, we may never be able to work tirelessly as the volunteers for Sea Shepherd. Still, we can remain conscious of the ocean and its protection. It can be effortless, such as picking up the water bottle or the sandwich wrapper you take to the beach and throwing it in a bin when you leave. It doesn’t have to be heroic or brave to have value. We can do something small, which will make a huge difference.

If you are interested in becoming more involved in protecting our oceans, here is a list of places you can contact to get started:

Sea Shepherd

Two Oceans Aquarium 

Department of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development

 

If you share our deep appreciation for sharks, book a Cape Town shark cage diving trip with us. 

Share This Post

Related Blogs

TRIP STATUS

TOMORROW

Tuesday
27 June 2023

Next trip 28 June
11h45

*Trip status updated daily at 16h00 SAST