鯊魚籠潛水 2018 年 XNUMX 月

鯊魚籠潛水 2018 年 XNUMX 月

 海豹島,假灣籠式潛水

是的,您可能已經猜到了,但就在幾天前,我們終於在海豹島看到了本季第一批大白鯊。 在焦急的等待之後,看到一條大白鯊在船上近距離觀看真是太高興了,我知道 Apex 船員與船上的客人一樣興奮,或者可能更興奮。

到目前為止,已經在船周圍記錄了 3 種不同的大白鯊,還觀察到了總共 6 次掠奪性事件。 在其中一個事件中,著名但引人入勝的雄性鯊魚, 巨人 被看見了。 這條鯊魚因出現在許多 氣爪 發現鯊魚週節目,我知道你們中的許多人會很高興聽到他還在身邊。 他的體型現在估計在 4 到 4.5 米(13 到 14 英尺之間)之間,所以他開始成為一條重量級的鯊魚!

我們知道現在還為時尚早,但我們很高興有幾個特別的大鯊魚朋友在身邊。

在第一次目擊大白鯊之前,我們一直有很好的七鰓牛鯊目擊事件,每個人都喜歡在船周圍和籠子裡看到這些鯊魚。 在場的其中一隻大型雌性體長不到三米,幾乎和它們能達到的一樣大。 我們在海豹島也有極好的水能見度,這對於一個很棒的籠子潛水體驗來說真是太棒了。

極為有趣的是,除了第一天出現大白鯊外,所有的七鰓牛鯊現在似乎已經完全離開了海豹島。 在沒有大白鯊的情況下,他們填補了留下的空白,但現在食物鏈上比他們更高的鯊魚回來了,他們似乎不再覺得留在該地區很舒服。

讓我驚訝的是大自然與周圍一切事物的協調程度,以及生態系統中存在的平衡有多好。

幹斯拜大白鯊籠潛水

為了詳細說明這一點,幹斯拜地區也發生了一些有趣的事情。

時隔 6 個月,大白鯊大約在 2 個月前返回幹斯拜,這裡的經營者目擊情況相當不錯。 但在 XNUMX 月中旬,人們發現臭名昭著的吃鯊魚的逆戟鯨、港口和右舷在戴爾島後面移動。 沒有發現大白鯊屍體,但在發現這兩條逆戟鯨後的第二天,所有大白鯊在倉促離開幹斯拜地區後都消失了。 我們不知道有任何鯊魚被殺死,但它們似乎確實知道逆戟鯨的存在以及它們構成的潛在致命威脅。

在接下來的 3 周里,鯊魚一直在這裡失踪,直到最近幾天才看到了幾條大白鯊。

目前看來,南開普海岸線上大白鯊的存在極其脆弱,在經歷瞭如此異常的時期之後,我們只能希望事情能盡快平靜下來並恢復到相對正常的狀態。

您可能也對我們的文章感興趣 在赫曼努斯與大白鯊一起潛水.

分享這個帖子

相關博客

大白鯊
鯊魚紀錄片

Air Jaws 大白鯊的視覺盛宴

Air Jaws – 與 Great Whites 同行 2015 基於我們對 2014 年斯圖爾特島有趣的社會動態的觀察,我們曾經

大白鯊鳥瞰圖
鯊魚紀錄片

空氣顎懸崖

就我們過去 25 年來觀察和記錄數據的專業而言,自然捕食一直是我們的主要內容,主要是

Shark Cage Diving May 2018

Shark CageDiving May 2018

 Seal Island, False Bay Cage Diving

Yes, you may have already guessed but we have finally had the first Great white shark sightings of the season at Seal Island just a few days ago. After an anxious wait it was pure joy to see a great white shark up close around the boat and I know the Apex Crew was just as excited, or perhaps more so, than our guests onboard.

So far 3 different Great whites have been recorded around the boat along with a total of 6 predatory events also observed. On one of these events the famous but allusive male shark, Colossus was sighted. This shark is well known for appearing in a number of Air Jaws Discovery Shark Week shows and I know that many of you will be thrilled to hear that he is still around. His size is now estimated at between 4 and 4.5 meters (between 13 and 14 feet) so he is starting to become a heavy-weight shark!

We know it is early days yet but we are thrilled to have a few special large sharky friends around.

In the lead-up to the first Great white shark sighting, we were consistently having good seven-gill cow shark sightings and everyone was enjoying seeing these sharks around the boat and from the cage. One of the large females present was just under 3 meters long, which is just about as big as they can get. We have also had fantastic water visibility at Seal Island which has been awesome for a great cage diving experience.

What is extremely interesting is that apart from the first day of a great white sighting, all the seven-gill cow sharks now seem to have completely departed from Seal Island. In the absence of the great whites, they filled the gap that was left but now that a shark higher up on the food chain than them has returned it seems they no longer feel comfortable staying in the area.

It constantly amazes me how in tune nature is with everything around them, as well as how fine the balance is that exists in the ecosystem.

Great White Shark Cage Diving in Gansbaai

To elaborate on this point interesting things have also been happening in the Gansbaai area.

After an absence of 6 months, the great white sharks returned to Gansbaai roughly 2 months ago and the operators here were having fairly good sightings. But in mid-May, the notorious shark-eating Orca, Port, and Starboard were spotted moving behind Dyer Island. No great white shark carcasses were found but the day after these two Orcas were spotted all Great white sharks vanished after a hasty departure from the Gansbaai area. We don’t know that any sharks were killed, but it certainly seems that they were aware of the Orca’s presence as well as the potentially lethal threat they pose.

The sharks remained missing here for the next 3 weeks and only in the last couple of days have a couple of great whites been seen.

It seems that the presence of Great White sharks along the Southern Cape Coastline is extremely fragile at the moment and after such an abnormal period we can only hope that things settle down and return to relative normality soon.

You might also be interested in our article on Diving with Great White sharks in Hermanus.

Share This Post

Related Blogs

shark vs seal
Great White Shark News

Who Will Win? Shark vs Seal

Great White Shark vs Seal or Seal vs Great White Shark? One species you are guaranteed sightings of every single trip to Seal Island, South